Since my last post about my anxiety problems, I decided to take action. Over the last eight weeks, I worked together with a wellness coach with the goal of creating a healthier environment for myself and being able to reduce my anxiety and panic attacks.

With the help of my wellness coach, Quentin Vennie, I was able to do just that. I am very proud to say that within the last month, my level of anxiety has gone from a level 10 to about a 3, and I am feeling healthier than I have in quite a while. My panic attacks have gone from daily to only one in the last three weeks, and it only lasted about 10 minutes.

I am on my own now, and have been for a couple of weeks, and so far I am still doing great! What am I doing to make such progress? Here is a list of just some of the things that I have managed to change thus far:

timeforchange


Daily Meditation Practice

I meditate twice a day: 10 minutes in the morning and 10-20 minutes in the evening. This is actually my favorite new habit that I have formed. It helps to ground me and give me a better perspective to begin and end my day. I am able to set my intentions in the morning and then reflect and relax in the evening. I am not an expert in meditation by any means, but I am definitely going to keep practicing and trying different methods.

Eliminating Caffeine

I have spent a good share of my life in the “I cannot live without coffee” camp. I was drinking at least three cups, if not more a day for a while. This may not sound like much, but after adding in the caffeine from all of the soda I was drinking as well; it was definitely damaging my health. This change is what made the most difference in my anxiety. I went off gradually, and there was some withdrawal for about two weeks. After that though, I have seen a major change in how I act. Situations that used to freak me out have a much lesser effect. I miss my coffee still, but I would much rather be without it than suffer through panic attacks.

Exercising

Right now, I am only working out twice a week, but I want to move it up to three times a week by the end of this month. I forgot how much I miss doing sports. I left it after high school because between work and classes, I didn’t have time. However, I am getting back in the groove of things, and hopefully I will be able to expand my activity beyond my living room as we move into the springtime.

Green Smoothies for Breakfast

Ever since I was little, I didn’t like to eat much for breakfast. Usually what I was eating consisted of a plain piece of bread or maybe a yogurt if I felt fancy. Big breakfasts were special occasions. Needless to say, this did not provide me with sufficient nutrients to make it through the day. I was hungry and it affected my mood and ability to do my work. Since replacing my breakfast with a green smoothie, I have been able to increase my nutrient intake and it leaves me feeling good every morning. I mix up the ingredients to give myself some variety, and I mix it up on the weekends with other breakfast foods, but for workdays, this change has given me a renewed energy.


These are just a few of the things that I have successfully managed to meld into my life so far. There is still a lot left to be changed, but I am working on gradual progression. It is not a quick and painless process to change your lifestyle. Each of these changes in my life has meant sacrificing something. At the end of the day, I have to ask myself “What do I want to live with, the sacrifice or the panic?” The sacrifice always wins.

Now that I am more comfortable with myself and where I am at in my journey, I would like to see if any of you would like to join me! If you would like to join me or have any ideas as to how to create an accountability group, I would love to hear it!

I have read about how community can help foster the creation of new habits, so I want to give it a shot. As I said, this isn’t an easy process, and any support is welcome. If you are interested, please let me know either in the comments below, via Facebook, or tweet me @ktayd13.

