So kids, about a month ago, I finally got my first Chilean job.

Since then, that job has been my life.

My goal in the end is to be a writer of some nature, as I have told you before. However, life happens and money is needed for said life, therefore I have to be realistic. I also was having a little bit of an issue with being in my house for extended periods of time. Yes, it was wonderful to be able to have a clean house and be with Felipe whenever I wanted to, but at the same time I was suffering a little. I needed to force myself out of my safe haven apartment bubble and go out, meet people, network, and put down a few more roots in my new home.

Therefore, my best option was to go out and get a “real job.” With luck on my side, I managed to find a job in a relatively short amount of time. I was applying for jobs for two months before I got an interview. My mistake for a while was that I was applying for jobs with Chilean based companies…since I am in Chile that would make sense, right? Wrong. Chilean companies are typically not foreigner (namely, gringo) friendly. A lot of the time, if you have a name that isn’t of Spanish origin, they will throw out your resume without a second look. They don’t trust foreigners to stay for more than a few months, so they don’t even want to have to deal with you.

So, I was bummed for a little while, but then I sat down and really thought about it: What is an international business that handles clients from different parts of the world where I could use my bilingual and translation skills? Answer: Hotels. Duh. Why didn’t I think of that before?

I started sending applications out to hotels in Santiago, and within one week, I had three interviews. It was a sudden landslide of opportunity! I applied for various positions in various hotels, and they all seemed to want me. It was wonderful!

In the end, the job that I was offered and accepted was for the  Hostess position at the Arola Restaurant in The Ritz-Carlton Santiago. It isn’t exactly the highest position, but it certainly is a start. It also was the job that I applied for that had the highest salary, which was a huge bonus.

Plus, it is a really beautiful hotel. Not to mention, close to home. Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons
Plus, it is a really beautiful hotel. Not to mention, close to home.
Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

The job so far…has been a learning experience, as they would say. For a year I didn’t have a job, but the time passed by very quickly! I didn’t quite realize the effect that getting off of my ass would have on me. It wasn’t that I was doing nothing in the house…I just wasn’t on my feet for 9 hours a day, in heels. Ugh, the first week was miserable. I came home with swollen, hurt and bleeding feet. I also only work in the evenings, so the shift was hard to get used to. I have been sleeping until noon, working 4pm-1am, getting home around 2…I am so busy trying to get rested for the next day of work that the house work has definitely fallen by the wayside. I have just been too exhausted.

My days off are weird too. I only get Mondays and two Sundays per month off. I also had to work the holidays. While I was so excited to get the job, I was kind of kicking myself for not putting my start date until after the 1st of January. My time with Felipe has been minimal, and forget about seeing the family…trips to Viña are on hold for the foreseeable future.

On the plus side, however, I do like my job. It has been a month of a lot of information and rhetoric rolling around in my head (let me tell you, the Ritz drills its employees in customer service as if they were the Navy Seals of the field). The part that I really like is that I get to interact with a lot of people from a lot of different cultures. Some of them, incredibly nice…and others…well, it is the Ritz, and let’s just say that there are a lot of people in this world that believe that they are the most important person in it. My co-workers are all really cool, and I seem to be fitting into the group.

Now that I have accustomed myself a bit to the schedule and the work, I am starting to get to a new normal. I just couldn’t bring myself to the computer for a while, I needed to take some time for me and get things straightened out. There has been a lot happening. However, I am putting myself back in the game…I am making myself a new daily schedule and I am going to stick to it! No more lazing about the house during the morning. Even if I am tired, I am going to wake up earlier so that I get a little “me time” and actually get some stuff done around the house as well.

I am also going to start writing again. I got into a mini-depression even before I found my job, and I stopped paying attention to my blog. It makes no sense to cut it out of my life, since my blog is one of the things in my life that I enjoy the most, but I got to a point where I felt like I wanted to hide from it. I can’t explain why very well. What I do know is that I have missed my blog and my writing, and life isn’t going to stop and wait for me to pursue what I want. I have to roll with the punches and adapt. So, I am going to incorporate it into my schedule again.

I hope that everyone has had a wonderful Holiday season and a Happy New Year! I passed Christmas Eve and New Year’s working, but all was well. I did get to head out to Viña for the 25th. You’ll be hearing some more from me soon, I promise.

