This coming Saturday, I will have lived two weeks in Santiago. It is not a grand accomplishment, but a first step. Everything is coming together slowly. We have almost all of our things out of boxes! Woohoo!

So, what do I think about living in Santiago so far? Well, I don’t have a concrete opinion yet. Most of my time has been spent in the apartment organizing. We managed to get a really great apartment that is centrally located in the Ñuñoa district. We even have a fairly unobstructed view of the Andes from all the windows in the apartment. You better believe I have the desk set up looking out at them.

The only bummer is that most of the time, there is a ton of smog that kind of kills it. Santiago is one of the most polluted cities in the world. It sits in a valley, and with the Andes, it holds all the contamination in the area. On the plus side, winter here is really rainy, so it beats down the smog and lets me have my beautiful snowy mountain view.

The view from my window this morning. Gotta love those mountains!
The view from my window this morning. Gotta love those mountains!
We even had a  rainbow appear the other day! That has to be a good sign, right?
We even had a rainbow appear the other day! That has to be a good sign, right?

I’ve also been a little more homebound because I have been trying to acclimatize. Our apartment is really cozy in comparison to some that I have been in around here. For the most part, Chilean residential buildings don’t have indoor heating due to the high cost of electricity. Ours does, but we don’t turn it on. We mainly benefit from the rich people that live in the apartments around us using theirs. It makes our apartment like a little cocoon of warmth without driving up our heating bill. However, I just came from the states where it was 90F, so I am just freezing all the time. Tea, coffee, thick socks and extra sweaters have been my friends. I am better than when I first got here, but I think it will take a couple more weeks for my body to realize that it didn’t just get dropped in the Arctic. It is warmer here than Moscow, Idaho in wintertime. Not to mention that it rarely snows in the city…bonus! Snowy mountain view without trudging through knee high snow? I’ll definitely take that.

In other news, my residency application is all together, ready to be sent away! I asked for the work permit while I wait for the visa, so we shall see if that comes through. If so, the job hunt will start much sooner than expected! If not, well, hopefully the visa comes soon. I really want NO problems with all of this. I’ll make sure to say some sort of prayer over my envelope before it gets sent away.

A question that I keep getting asked about the visa is “How long will it take to get it?” The answer is about three months, depending on the number of applications they have at the time. The response I get to that is “SO LONG?!?!”

Considering that I could be in the States in an apartment by myself waiting a MINIMUM of 10 months for Felipe’s visa, I personally think it is fairly reasonable. I also look at how fast the last couple of years have gone by, and suddenly three months seems like the blink of an eye. It also isn’t like I am sitting around the house doing nothing. The last two weeks have been extremely busy for me here at the house. Moving is not easy, and settling into a new place takes time. I also make lunch everyday, do the laundry, wash dishes, mop floors…

OK, I am starting to sound like Cinderella…but, you get the point. The smog here tends to leave a film on things that are left sitting around for too long, so I have been OCD about making sure things are clean. I figure it is a good habit to get into. I really haven’t been bored though, and I have been trying to wake up everyday around 9:30 am. So, the people who ask me “What do you do all day?” Trust me, my day is just as full as yours is, and my house is probably cleaner. Once I get my work permit, I will look for a job. Don’t get me wrong. I just don’t like it that people assume that since I can’t have one, I sit around all day. It just isn’t true.

Tomorrow, get ready. I found a dessert recipe that will knock your socks off! I have made it twice so far, and I just have to share it. Until then, everyone!

¿Quieres leer esta entrada en español? Haz click aquí.

